//
you're reading...
Knitting Patterns, Making

Open Access Logo Knitting Pattern

Open Access Logo SampleOpen Access Week 2014 is coming to a close, and while taking a break from creeping through the #oaweek twitter feed I put this pattern together!

The sample pictured here uses the smaller chart, and come out to about coaster size. I used double-knitting (hence the mirror-image/dual-color effect) but feel free to use the multicolor technique of your choice.

Yarn: I used Red Heart Super Saver in Carrot and Soft White. I did cheap out, however, since I was experimenting, and was very very tempted by the Vanna’s Choice in the same colors.

Needles: Size 8 straight needles.

Reuse: I’m publishing this CC BY, so feel free to do whatever you wish with it. If you create something new, I’d love it if you could leave a pic/note in the comments below!

Download Chart PDFs:

Open Access Logo Small (18 across, ~4.25″x4.5″)

Open Access Logo Large (36 across, ~8.5″x9″)

Note: As of the initial posting (10/26/14) I’ve only tested the smaller chart. If there are any problems with it, let me know.

Protyping in TARDIS blue.

Protyping in TARDIS blue.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Open Access Logo Knitting Pattern

  1. I entered a comment, but was erased.

    Posted by Mary Chang | October 26, 2014, 4:26 pm
    • Thanks for the reply Grandma! To answer the questions you asked me on the phone (that were in your original comment) –

      1. CC BY is shorthand for Creative Commons-Attribution license. It’s like Copyright (which is the law that says you can’t just make copies of movies or books and sell them). Normally Copyright is “All Rights Reserved” (like you’ll see in the movies) but CC BY is less restrictive. It basically means that anyone can use, copy or share the pattern, BUT they have to give me credit for it. For example, if they take this chart and use it to make a scarf pattern with the same logo, they should put “based on this pattern by Katie Fleeman” or something like it on the bottom.

      2. #OAWeek stands for “Open Access Week.” Open Access activists are urging publishers, scientists, researchers and others to publish research in a way that is free to read and reuse. An example of this would be if a biologist wrote a paper about their research and published it with the same license I used for my pattern. That means anyone could read the biology paper, and teachers could print copies for their class without worrying about copyright. The “#” is an internet thing.

      3. Prototyping refers to building a test version of something before you make the real thing, so you can see how it looks and fix stuff. If you look at the “prototype” in the picture, the pattern is a little bit squished since I accidentally skipped a few rows. Since I did the test, I knew I needed to be much more careful when I was making a real one.

      Hope that helps! I can talk about it with you more next time I see you 🙂

      Katie

      Posted by Katie Fleeman | October 26, 2014, 4:51 pm

Leave a Reply

