//
you're reading...
Adventuring, Europe

Amsterdam Reading: The Fault in Our Stars

20140911-183757.jpg

Okay I’m trying this blogging from my phone thing so bear with me if it end up weird. I’m waiting at Amsterdam Centraal to do my reservation for my overnight train to Copenhagen this weekend. I finished my book a few hours ago and figured I’d blog about it.

I traded my copy of The Hunchback of Notre Dame with a hostel rookie for The Fault in Our Stars. I know it was all the rage this summer but I’ve never actually read it so I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. Turns out a good portion takes place in Amsterdam! What a great coincidence. It’s almost as if the stars aligned. (Sorry)

Overall I liked it, but I did not cry at the end like I thought I would. I think I had been far too preconditioned to expect tears that I didn’t actually have the emotional reaction I might have otherwise. Also there’s just all the hubbub around the trip – I was reading it on the Metro, which is not the most conducive atmosphere for tears.

Anyhoo, I’ll be on the hunt for the next few days for a Copenhagen-appropriate book for that 16 hour train ride. Thinking Hans Christian Andersen or Hamlet, but those might be too obvious – let me know if you have any suggestions!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Amsterdam Reading: The Fault in Our Stars

  1. Here’s a list of books set in Copenhagen from Goodreads. I’ve not read any of them, but would suggest you take a look at The Spectator Bird by Wallace Stegner. It has both Copenhagen and San Francisco settings, and Stegner is a wonderful writer. Or the children’s book Number the Stars by Lois Lowry.

    Posted by fleemania | September 11, 2014, 10:40 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Victor Hugo’s Paris | Fleemanator Blog - September 27, 2014

Leave a Reply

